Aug. 27, 2009

Share your thoughts on next strategic plan at campus forums

Leaders of the effort to develop the university's next strategic plan have been selected and their planning work is set to begin. The team includes members of a steering committee and four task forces organized around four overarching goals for Iowa State in the year 2050. The strategic plan will be a guiding document for 2010-15.

The steering committee will host two campus forums in early September to collect ideas from the university community as it begins its work. The forum dates and locations are:

  • Sept. 3, 8-9 a.m., MU Gold Room
  • Sept. 10, Noon-1 p.m., MU Cardinal Room

"As we determine our focus for the next five years, it is important to have broad input into the plan," said Elizabeth Hoffman, executive vice president and provost and chair of the steering committee. "The steering committee and each of the task forces include faculty, staff and students representing all areas of the university."

She said other avenues to provide input to the planning process are through representative organizations for faculty, staff and students throughout the process, and by reviewing and commenting on the draft plan in the spring.


The task forces will meet regularly this fall and submit their reports to the steering committee by January. The oversight group will draft the next strategic plan, which will go to president Gregory Geoffroy by June 30, 2010. Finally, it will be submitted to the state Board of Regents for approval.

More information

A complete list of steering committee and task force members, a timeline and information about the strategic planning process are online.


Geoffroy recently updated his guidance for developing the next strategic plan. He asked Hoffman and the steering committee to outline the first steps toward reaching four overarching goals for the university in 2050. The process of moving toward each of these goals will be addressed by a task force. The four are:

  • Be a magnet for attracting truly outstanding students. Co-chairs: Kathy Jones, registrar; and Michael Whiteford, dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
  • Be a magnet for attracting world-class faculty to teach, conduct research and advance their scholarly interests, with the support of staff who are among the best in their areas of expertise. Co-chairs: Kevin Kane, director of Iowa State's GIS facility; and Jonathan Wickert, dean of the College of Engineering.
  • Be internationally known for addressing major problems of our planet, especially food, energy, infrastructure, water, health and sustainability. Co-chairs: Alex King, director of the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory; and Sharron Quisenberry, vice president for research and economic development.
  • Be a treasured resource for Iowa, the United States and the world. Co-chairs: Jack Payne, vice president for extension and outreach; and Wendy Wintersteen, dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.