Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

July 1, 2005

Founding event is July 1

Ribbon-tying ceremony marks founding of College of Human Sciences.

Thomas Alsbury

Training school leaders

Faculty member and former high school principal hopes to build model training system.

What keeps our faculty busy?

ISU faculty report spending 47 percent of their time on teaching activities.

Back on track

Regents approve revised plans, budget for Memorial Union renovation.

DaVinci's flying machine

Students in an interdisciplinary design studio this spring built a version of Leonardo DaVinci's 15th-century flight machine. Larger photo.

National search to begin

Academic Success Center's Sharon McGuire is interim dean of students.

Demolition prep

Crews prepare Knapp, Storms halls for implosion; likely dates are July 19-21.

Rupert, Lasley, Hohmann, Taylor

Day trips in Iowa

Iowa Staters recommend fun one-day excursions from Ames.

The topic is: bikes on campus

Advisory group seeks lots of ideas prior to developing long-term plan for bicycle funds.

New vice provost

NSF official starts Sept. 1 as next vice provost for research.


  • E-mail notices from library
  • Help plan P&S day
  • New name for tech transfer council
  • University closed July 4
  • Old-fashioned 4th at Farm House
  • Reiman Gardens open late July 4
  • Appointments: Brenda Daly, Michael Golemo

Q&A on info technology

IT leaders answer questions about new merged unit: Information Technology Services.

Reorganization update

Here's who's leading the seven service units in the merged IT unit.

Alumni Hall

Where's Bob?

It's another neck-craning shot for university photographer Bob Elbert.


Scottish preview

Prior to participating in the international Edinburgh Festival in early August, three ISU theater students will perform this month at the Maintenance Shop and the Iowa Fringe Festival, Des Moines.



Denise Harklau, Jim Nespor, Patricia Thiel, Charles Schwab.


Jenyese Belden, Tom Colvin, Nan Morain.