April 1, 2010

Search begins for next veterinary medicine dean

by Diana Pounds

The search is under way for the next dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine. Executive vice president and provost Elizabeth Hoffman recently identified an 18-member search committee, which will begin work next week.

The committee will seek a successor to Dr. John Thomson, who will retire from the dean position on Jan. 1, 2011. Thomson will remain on the ISU faculty.

Dean of the College of Business Labh Hira and associate provost Susan Carlson will co-chair the search committee.

The committee's first meeting will be held Wednesday, April 7. Final candidates likely will visit campus in the fall of 2010, and the new dean is expected to be in place by Jan. 1, 2011.

Nominations and applications for the veterinary medicine dean post may be submitted to vmdean@iastate.edu.

The committee

Members of the committee are:

  • Labh Hira, dean, College of Business
  • Susan Carlson, associate provost for faculty advancement and diversity
  • Rodney Bagley, professor and chair, veterinary clinical sciences
  • Rodney "Butch" Baker, clinician, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine
  • James DeLano, Oakland, Calif., ISU alumnus, veterinary medicine
  • Amanda Fales-Williams, assistant professor, veterinary pathology
  • Tamara Hancock, veterinary medicine student
  • David Hardin, associate dean, and professor and head of the School of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • D. L. "Hank" Harris, professor, animal science department
  • Anumantha Kanthasamy, Distinguished Professor in veterinary medicine; professor, biomedical sciences
  • Renee Knosby, business manager, veterinary medicine administration
  • Annette O'Connor, associate professor, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine
  • Amanda Ramer-Tait, research scientist, veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • James Roth, Distinguished Professor in veterinary medicine; professor, veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine
  • Kimberly Van Driel, veterinary medicine student
  • Bianca Zaffarano, clinician, veterinary clinical sciences
  • Kurt Zuelke, director, National Animal Disease Center
  • Ruth Birch, executive vice president and provost office (staff support to the committee)