Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

June 10, 2005

Cheryl Achterberg

Achterberg to lead College of Human Sciences

Cheryl Achterberg, founding dean of the Schreyer Honors College and professor at The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, will become inaugural dean of the College of Human Sciences, effective Sept. 1.

Next budget

The largest portion of new money in next year's budget will fund salary and benefit increases.

Salary increases

Salary increases for continuing faculty and P&S employees will average 3 percent next fiscal year.

New ways to budget?

Budget leaders consider alternative models for allocating funds.

Dog Wagon


If emerging from Parks Library brings the aroma of grilled chicken, it must be summer.


  • Campus phone upgrade June 22
  • The physics of baseball -- over lunch
  • Rose festival at Reiman Gardens
  • New appointments for Michael Crum, Manjit Misra
  • Sue Haug to Penn State
Kerry Dixon-Fox

On point

Architect is point person for two big campus projects -- the Morrill renovation and Knapp-Storms implosion.

Gone in 60 seconds

In less than a minute, two residence halls will disappear. Here's a primer on the coming implosion.

Corinne Holtz

Technology broker

Corinne Holtz matches people with the technology they need to stay in class or on the job.


Good start for Fusion

The student-built solar car Fusion has qualified for a No. 2 start in July race.


Test run for clickers

Clicker technology will get a test in large ISU classrooms next fall.


Band on the lawn

Ames Municipal Band concerts will be held on central campus, just south of the campanile (7:30-8:30 p.m. Thursdays in June and July.



Warren Blumenfeld, Charles Dobbs, Frankie Santos Laanan, John Schuh, Catherine Woteki, Zora Zimmerman, Corly Brook, Kurt Earnest, Mary Huba, Steve Mickelson, Ann Coppernoll Farni, Lee Burras, Office of the Registrar, Holly Bender, David Gradwohl and Project Glean, a service learning group in horticulture and food science and human nutrition.


Don Whalen, Jenyse Belden.