Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

June 10, 2005


Faculty awards from the Division of Student Affairs

The following faculty members received 2005 Faculty Recognition Awards from ISU's Division of Student Affairs for their service to students and support of student success: Warren Blumenfeld, curriculum and instruction; Charles Dobbs, history; Frankie Santos Laanan, educational leadership and policy studies; John Schuh, educational leadership and policy studies; Catherine Woteki, College of Agriculture; and Zora Zimmerman, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.
Additionally, Corly Brooke, human development and family studies, received the 2005 Thomas B. Thielen Award for outstanding service to Iowa State students.

5th annual LC Award recipients

Project Glean, a service learning group in horticulture and food science and human nutrition (Outstanding Innovation Award); Kurt Earnest and Mary Huba (Collaborator Award); Steve Mickelson and Ann Coppernoll Farni (Champion Award); and the Office of the Registrar (Partner Award); were honored for extraordinary contributions to learning communities at Iowa State at the 7th annual Learning Communities Institute May 9.

Iowa academy member

Lee Burras, associate professor of agronomy, has been named a fellow of the Iowa Academy of Sciences.

Top vet med educator

Holly Bender, an associate professor of veterinary pathology, has received the 2004 National Carl J. Norden-Pfizer Distinguished Teacher Award from the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges. The award recognizes instructors who contribute significantly to the advancement of the profession of veterinary medicine through their ability, dedication, character and leadership.

Lifetime achievement

David Gradwohl, professor emeritus of anthropology, is the recipient of the 2005 Petersen-Harlan Lifetime Achievement Award from the State Historical Society of Iowa.


Submit honors to More honors may be found on the online honors page.