Iowa State University nameplate

Inside Iowa State
Gold bar
November 21, 2003

Engineering dean search has begun

by Debra Gibson
A 23-member committee has begun the search for the new dean of the College of Engineering. The search committee is headed by Education dean Walter Gmelch. The successful candidate will succeed James Melsa, who announced earlier this fall that he will retire at the end of the academic year.

The search committee will hold its first meeting this week. Candidates are likely to visit campus in late March and early April. The new dean is expected to be in place by July 1.

Joining Gmelch on the committee are: Peter Atherton, Hon Industries Inc.; James Bernard, Distinguished professor of mechanical engineering; Rebecca Black, ISU senior in computer engineering; Michael Crum, professor of logistics, operations and management information systems; Julie Dickerson, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering; Charles Glatz, professor and chair of chemical engineering; Frederick Haan Jr., assistant professor of aerospace engineering; and Shauna Hallmark, assistant professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering.

Also Wayne Klaiber, Distinguished professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering; Meagen Marquardt, ISU graduate student in materials science and engineering; Theodore Okiishi, Engineering associate dean; Pamela Reinig, director of Engineering communications and marketing; Thomas Richard, associate professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering; Thomas Rudolphi, professor of aerospace engineering; and Sarah Ryan, associate professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering.

Also Bruce Thompson, Distinguished professor of materials science and engineering; Judy Vance, professor and chair of mechanical engineering; Patrick Vickerman, senior director for gift planning and leadership gifts for the ISU Foundation; Vijay Vittal, professor of electrical and computer engineering; James Waters Jr., Caterpillar Inc.; Edward Yeung, Distinguished professor of chemistry; and Karen Zunkel, manager of the Program for Women in Science and Engineering.

... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.