Iowa State University nameplate

Inside Iowa State
Gold bar
September 12, 2003

Fall convocation is Sept. 29

by Anne Krapfl
The university community is invited to Iowa States annual fall convocation at 3 p.m. Monday, Sept. 29, in the Memorial Union Sun Room.

For the first time, all-university awards formerly presented at a spring ceremony will be presented during the fall convocation. Also recognized at this event will be new holders (in the last year) of endowed faculty chairs, faculty and staff recipients of the regents excellence awards, and recipients of two awards for staff and faculty from the ISU Alumni Association.

President Gregory Geoffroy will speak briefly on the coming year at Iowa State. Geoffroy and vice presidents Benjamin Allen, Tom Hill and Warren Madden will present most of the awards. ISU Foundation president Dan Saftig will present the Foundation-sponsored awards and ISU Alumni Association president Jeffery Johnson will present the association's awards.

Following the awards part of the program, refreshments will be served. A string quintet of undergraduate students Neha Kothari and Sarah Hundley (violin), Chris Westra and Jennifer Lowry (viola), and Erin Gaherty (cello) will perform.

Convocation honorees also will be published in the Sept. 26 issue of Inside.

... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.