Iowa State University nameplate

Inside Iowa State
Gold bar
August 29, 2003

Eight inducted into Hall of Fame

Eight university legends will be recognized for their contributions to Iowa State athletics with their induction into the Athletic Hall of Fame 2003 class Sept. 5. This is the seventh class inducted since the tradition began in 1997.

Among this year's inductees will be Pete Taylor, the "Voice of the Cyclones," who provided radio play-by-play from 1970 to 2003.

Also inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame will be:
  • Al Budolfson, basketball (1940-42)
  • Jenny Condon, softball (1987-90)
  • Karen Glerum, track and field (1989-93)
  • Jonah Koech, track and field (1989-93)
  • Tim Krieger, wrestling (1986-89)
  • Scott McCadam, swimming and diving (1983-86)
  • Bob Verbeeck, track and field (1980-84)
The induction ceremony will be held in the banquet wing at The Hotel at Gateway Center, with social hour beginning at 5:30 p.m., dinner at 6:30 and the ceremony at 7:30. Tickets are $35 and available from Kris Tigges, Jacobson Building, or by calling 4-3558.

The Hall of Fame inductees also will be honored during the Sept. 6 football game when Iowa State takes on Ohio University at 1 p.m. at Jack Trice Stadium.

... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.