Iowa State University nameplate

Inside Iowa State
Gold bar
July 09, 2003

Paula Morrow appointed faculty athletics representative

Paula Morrow
Paula Morrow
Paula Morrow, University professor of management, has been appointed Iowa State's faculty athletics representative to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the Big 12 Conference. President Gregory Geoffroy appointed Morrow to a three-year, renewable appointment that begins Sept. 1.

Morrow has been at Iowa State since 1978 and has been involved in Cyclone athletics for the past 10 years. She served on the search committees for former athletics director Gene Smith, current athletics director Bruce Van De Velde and several coaching vacancies. She has served on the Athletics Council since 1999 and on its executive board since 2001.

On the council, she was a member of the equity and academic integrity committees, chairing the latter the last two years.

Last summer, she spearheaded an effort to revise the council's constitution and by-laws to give all council members meaningful roles and to include the faculty senate in the process of identifying faculty membership.

Morrow also was part of the academic integrity subgroup of the NCAA recertification effort (2000-02), helped with Iowa State's hosting of an NCAA women's regional basketball tournament (March 2002), and chaired several student-athlete ineligibility appeal committees.

Morrow was selected from a group of tenured and tenure-track faculty members who applied for the representative position. A screening committee, chaired by Library dean Olivia Madison, helped narrow the pool to three finalists. Other groups that interviewed the finalists included a group of student-athletes, the athletics council and the faculty senate executive board.

Morrow succeeds Barbara Licklider, educational leadership and policy studies, who resigned after six years as Iowa State's faculty athletics representative.

... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.