Iowa State University nameplate

Inside Iowa State
Gold bar
July 25, 2003

Old and new merge at Parks Library

The Parks Library building is an intriguing architectural blend of the original classic revivalist structure and three subsequent additions, including a glass curtain wall that serves as a transition between the limestone facades of the original building and the third addition.

Inside, the library is not much different. The old blends effortlessly with the new. Copiers and computers are merged with old fireplaces and rows of newspapers.

Here's a quick look at what's old and new at the Parks Library.

1. Microscope to analyze data in the preservation department

2. The stacks on the second floor (section QA76)

3. The check out desk on the first floor, complete with scanner

4. Climate controls for temperature and humidity in the Special Collections area on the fourth floor

5. Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, dating back to 1802

6. A scanner that allows both pages of old books to be scanned at the same time. Once the pages are scanned, they are printed and bound into new books, which are put into circulation, allowing the old books to be preserved

7. Quiet sign on the west door of the Periodical Room

8. Fireplace in the refurbished reading room on the first floor

9. Weekly newspaper subscriptions in the Periodical Room

10. An old paper cutter in preservation room on the fourth floor

11. Copy machines on the XX floor

... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.