Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

April 17, 2009

Distinguished, University Professors named

by Diana Pounds

Five Iowa State faculty members have been awarded the titles of Distinguished or University Professor. They will be honored this fall at the Sept. 21 university convocation and awards ceremony.

Through their research or creative activities, Distinguished Professors have significantly impacted or improved the quality of their disciplines. They also have demonstrated excellence in at least one of the following: teaching and advising; extension/professional practice; or institutional service. Recipients receive a $4,900 addition to their base salaries.

Acting as change agents, University Professors have made important contributions that improved the university. In addition, University Professors have demonstrated outstanding performance in at least one of the following: research and/or creative activities; teaching and advising; or extension/professional practice. Recipients receive a $4,850 addition to their base salaries.

Rameshwar Kanwar,
Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in Agriculture and Life Sciences

Kanwar has achieved international recognition in the areas of sustainable irrigation and drainage systems, natural resources and water quality engineering, and has helped make water supplies safe for global populations. He is among a few water experts in the United States who've been invited by such groups as the World Bank, European Commission, United Nations and U.S. Agency for International Development to consult on international projects affecting the water needs of growing global populations.

Kanwar is professor and chair of the agricultural and biosystems engineering department. Under his leadership, the department has risen to global status.

Steve Martin,
Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering

Martin is an internationally recognized expert in glass. He has developed products for surgical laser fibers and batteries and ceramic membrane materials for fuel cells. More than 25 companies have sought his consulting expertise. His efforts to involve high school and undergraduate students in his research group have improved retention of undergrads, particularly women and minorities, and led to substantial numbers enrolling in graduate programs. His work has been recognized with several prestigious awards, including the highest U.S. award for glass research -- the American Ceramic Society's George W. Morey Award.

Martin is a University Professor and director of graduate education in the department of materials science and engineering.

Sedahlia Crase,
University Professor

A professor of human development and family studies, Crase has made numerous contributions to Iowa State in curriculum development, interdisciplinary graduate studies, policies on university faculty appointments, and teaching and advising. Her work in interdisciplinary graduate studies has resulted in a better graduate education environment for cross-discipline education and more support for non-traditional learners. She also provided leadership to the faculty and university as president of the Faculty Senate. Among her teaching honors are the Margaret Ellen White award for her work with graduate students and the Regents Outstanding Teaching Award.

Lawrence Genalo,
University Professor

A professor of materials science and engineering, Genalo is known for highly successful recruiting and retention activities, commitment to engineering education at the kindergarten through university levels and an infectious enthusiasm for learning. He started the Toying With Technology program, which uses LEGOS to introduce youngsters to electronic technology. His "Cool Stuff" materials demonstrations wow youngsters, teachers and university students. Genalo also started the Internet Explorers Program, which provides summer internship opportunities to female high school students interested in science and technology. He has won many teaching honors, including the Regents Faculty Excellence Award.

Howard Van Auken,
University Professor

A professor of management, Van Auken has been a leader in entrepreneurship education at Iowa State since the early 1990s. He developed and taught ISU's first entrepreneurship course, designed for MBA students. Subsequently, he developed several other courses. He also has collaborated with and mentored faculty in developing entrepreneurship courses and curricula across colleges. The beneficiaries of this commitment have been hundreds of students instilled with an entrepreneurial spirit and know-how to create new enterprises. Van Auken was appointed the Bob and Kay Smith Dean's Fellow in Entrepreneurship in 2005, and also was named a Longenecker Fellow of the U.S. Association of Small Business and Entrepreneurship in 2009.


Distinguished Professors

Rameshwar Kanwar, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in Agriculture and Life Sciences

Steve Martin, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering

University Professors

Sedahlia Crase

Lawrence Genalo

Howard Van Auken