Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

July 24, 2008


Teaching award

Steven Lonergan, professor of animal science, received the distinguished teaching award from the American Meat Science Association. The award recognizes excellence in teaching undergraduate and graduate meat science courses.

Perks for Peers award

The department of Environmental Health and Safety was awarded the Perks for Peers Award from the Campus Safety, Health and Environmental Management Association. The award was in recognition of ISU's Automated External Defibrillator program.

Chemistry honor

Pat Thiel, Distinguished Professor of chemistry and Ames Lab division director for science and technology, received the 2008 Honorary Member Award from the Iota Sigma Pi national honor society for women in chemistry. The honor is awarded every three years and includes Marie Curie on its list of past recipients.

Facilities management achievement

Chris Ahoy, associate vice president for facilities, received the APPA President's Award for exceptional achievement in facilities management and outstanding contributions to the association. APPA is the Association of Higher Education Facilities Officers. Ahoy is an APPA Fellow and immediate past president of the association.

Honor Award for Applied Research

The International Water Association awarded a research team led by Hans van Leeuwen, a professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering, an Honour Award for Applied Research as part of the association's Project Innovation Award Program. The research team is focused on using fungi to clean up and improve the dry-grind ethanol production process. Other researchers working on the project are Anthony L. Pometto III, professor of food science and human nutrition; Mary Rasmussen, graduate student in environmental engineering and biorenewable resources and technology; and Samir Khanal, former Iowa State research assistant professor now at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

American Statistical Association fellows

Dan Nettleton and Yongzhao Shao, faculty members in the statistics department, were named fellows of the American Statistical Association (ASA). ASA honors only one-third of one percent of its members as fellows each year.