Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

July 3, 2008


Oil Chemists Society awards

The American Oil Chemists Society honored several ISU faculty from the food science and human nutrition department. Lawrence Johnson, professor in the Center for Crops Utilization Research, was presented the Richard Baldwin Award for distinguished service, and shared the Archer Daniels Midland Award for best journal paper in proteins and co-products with University Professor Pat Murphy and former post-doc Nicolas Deak. University Professor emeritus Earl Hammond was honored for 50 years of lipid research.

Safety, health and environmental awards

Warren Madden, vice president for business and finance, received the "Campus Leader Who Cares" award from the Campus Safety, Health and Environmental Management Association. EH&S earned an award of recognition for its pandemic flu emergency plan, and an award for its automated external defibrillator program in the Perks for Peers competition.

Prevention science award

Richard Spoth, director of the Partnerships in Prevention Science Institute, has received the 2008 Prevention Science Award from the Society for Prevention Research for outstanding contributions to advancing the field of prevention science. Spoth also received a letter of commendation from the director of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism for his work in the institute's underage drinking initiative.

Distinguished teacher

James Kliebenstein, professor of agricultural economics, received the 2008 Distinguished Teaching Award from the American Agricultural Economics Association.

Elected fellow

Lester Wilson, University Professor of food science and human nutrition, was elected a fellow of the Institute of Food Technologies for contributions to the food science and technology field. Wilson's expertise is in soymilk and tofu processing, quality and safety.

Materials research award

Dan Shechtman, Ames Laboratory research scientist and professor of materials science and engineering, received the 25th Anniversary Award from the European Materials Research Society. It is the highest award given by the group and recognized Shechtman's discovery of quasicrystals.

Iowa State: Best place to work

Iowa State was voted "Best Place to Work in Story County" by The Tribune (Ames) readers. The Tribune has been running its "best of" series since 2000, but this is first year for the "best place to work" category.

National board president

Nancy Brooks, director of purchasing, was elected 2008-09 board president of the National Association of Educational Procurement. The association represents the procurement profession in higher education and affiliated institutes.

Winning photos

Bob Elbert, University Photographer, won two first-place awards in the University Photographers Association of America's 2008 Print Competition. One photo depicted Lei Li , a graduate student in genetics. The other showed a student in a gasifier lab in Black Engineering.

Hospitality, tourism excellence

The International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education honored four Iowa Staters for excellence in the field. Robert Bosselman, professor and chair of apparel, educational studies and hospitality management, received the Howard B. Meek Award for outstanding lifetime contributions. Associate professors Haemoon Oh and Miyoung Jeong, and professor Ann Marie Fiore collaborated to earn the award for best research paper of the year.

Research award

Ping Lu, professor of aerospace engineering, received the 2008 Mechanics and Control of Flight Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. He was honored for his work in advanced guidance algorithms for entry and ascent flight.