Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

June 12, 2008


Board of Governors secretary

Nancy Knight, director of graduate enrollment management in the College of Engineering, was elected to a two-year term as secretary for the National Association of Graduate Admissions Professionals. Currently, Knight serves as chair of the association's Research and National Issues committee.

Ames Community Arts awards

Reiman Gardens earned the Ames Community Arts Council's 2008 Award for Support of the Arts in the Work Place. The winner of the council's Award for Support of the Arts in the Media was Iowa Public Radio personality Karen Bryan.

Learning Abroad Leadership Award

Warren Dolphin, University Professor of genetics, development and cell biology, and Carl Bleyle, professor of music, received the Phi Beta Delta 2008 Learning Abroad Leadership Award, which recognizes outstanding leadership and contributions to education abroad at Iowa State.

Distinguished Iowa Science Teaching Award

Jim Colbert, associate professor of ecology, evolution and organismal biology, received the 2008 Distinguished Iowa Science Teaching Award from the Iowa Academy of Science. The award recognizes and promotes undergraduate collegiate science teaching by an individual at an Iowa college or university.

Honorary degree from NYC college

Gary Wells, professor of psychology and Distinguished Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences, received the honorary doctorate from John Jay College of Criminal Justice of the City University of New York. Wells was honored for pioneering work on eyewitness identification and his landmark experiments on police lineups that have resulted in reforms in many police jurisdictions across the United States.

Learning Abroad Service Award

Brenda Jones, associate professor of art and design, received the Phi Beta Delta 2008 Learning Abroad Service Award, recognizing significant involvement with, or development of, Iowa State educational programs abroad.

National leadership award

Gary Taylor, assistant professor and extension specialist in community and regional planning, earned the 2008 American Planning Association's Chapter Presidents Council Leadership Award for Chapter Professional Development Officer Recognition. He was recognized for his work in training the professional and citizen planners of Iowa.

Award of Excellence

Christopher Seeger, assistant professor of landscape architecture and ISU Extension landscape architect, received the 2008 Award of Excellence from the Iowa chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects and a Merit Award in communication from the society's Central States conference. The awards recognize his development of an interactive online geospatial tool used by a Seattle architecture firm to collect public input at a series of charrettes focusing on infrastructure and design plans for the city of Lake Forest Park, Wash.

Wetland science merit award

Arnold van der Valk, professor of ecology evolution and organismal biology, earned the 2008 Society of Wetland Scientists Merit Award. The award recognizes outstanding research, achievement or contribution to wetland science.

Communicator of the Year

Cory Harms, ISU purchasing, received the National Association of Educational Procurement's Neil D. Markee Communicator of the Year Award. This award recognizes the NAEP member who made the most outstanding contribution to the profession during the year through written or spoken word.