Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

May 22, 2008


Institute fellow

Venkataramana Ajjarapu, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been named a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Performance excellence

ISU Facilities, Planning and Management took home silver (No. 3) from the 2007 Iowa Recognition for Performance Excellence Awards. The awards recognize high performance management principles and are given by Gov. Chet Culver, the Executive Council of the Iowa Recognition for Performance Excellence and the Iowa Quality Center.

Fulbright scholar

Jacinto Fabiosa, co-director of ISU's Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute, is conducting research at Cairo University, Egypt, from March through July as a Fulbright Scholar. He is studying Egypt's expanding food consumption patterns.

Distinguished scientist

Iver Anderson, Ames Lab metallurgist and adjunct professor in materials science and engineering, received the 2007 Distinguished Scientist/Engineer Award from the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society's electronic, magnetic and photonic materials division. His development of lead-free solder was cited.

Schuh appointed book review editor

John Schuh, distinguished professor of educational leadership, was appointed the book review editor of The New Review of Higher Education. He will oversee the solicitation, editing, and publication of approximately 15 reviews per quarterly issue of the journal.

Association of Donor Relations Professionals

Angela Joens, senior director of donor relations at the ISU Foundation, has been elected to the board of directors of the Association of Donor Relations Professionals (ADRP). Joens joined the ISU Foundation in 1999, and previously worked in fund raising for RuffaloCODY and the American Cancer Society.

University Researcher Award

Mark Kushner, dean of the College of Engineering, received the 2008 Semicounductor Industry Association University Researcher Award. Selection is by an industry panel. The award was presented in Washington, D.C., in recognition of Kushner's many career contributions to semiconductor technology.

Recruiting efforts net Addy Awards

ISU student recruitment materials garnered several awards an Addy Awards competition among Des Moines area advertising professionals. The student recruitment team of ISU admissions, University Marketing and ZLRIgnition collected a Gold Addy and two Silver Addys for TV spots and another Silver for a billboard.

Distinguished service

James McKean, University Professor of veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine and associate director of the Iowa Pork Industry Center, received the Pork Checkoff's Distinguished Service Award from the National Pork Board. The award recognizes lifelong contributions to the pork industry.

Architectural education

Several College of Design faculty and an ISU student have been honored by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture for achievements in architectural education. Gregory Palermo was among three faculty nationally to receive the ACSA Distinguished Professor Award. The ACSA creative achievement award went to faculty members Jason Alread, Thomas Leslie, James Miller, Moe Muench and Carl Rogers and graduate student Karen Jeske.