Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

Sep. 7, 2007

Nine inductees highlight football weekend

by Erin Rosacker

In the midst of Iowa State's second weekend of football action, nine former Cyclones will be inducted into ISU's athletics hall of fame. This, the 11th class, gives the hall of fame 103 members.

"This is one of the highlights of the year for Iowa State athletics and the Letterwinners Club, as we recognize a group of individuals that was instrumental in building the tradition and history of the program," said Ryan McGuire, who serves as the athletics department's director of special events and the Letterwinners Club.

The legendary George Veenker heads the list of honorees, entering the hall of fame as a former football coach and athletics director. It was his vision that turned a cow pasture into the award-winning golf course that bears his name. Veenker, who passed away in 1959, will be the only member of the class missing at the hall of fame banquet.

Three wrestlers will be inducted, including Kevin Jackson (1987), Mike Land (1975-79) and Jason Smith (1968-70). Jackson competed as a Cyclone his senior year, landing in Ames after Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, dropped its program. He earned a Big Eight individual title and finished as runner-up in the NCAA meet, but went on to win an Olympic gold medal in 1992. Smith earned a pair of NCAA titles and three All-American finishes, while Land was a four-time All-American with one NCAA championship under his belt.

Two-time Heisman Trophy finalist Troy Davis (1994-96) is the youngest of the inductees. All-American Merv Krakau (1970-72) and teammate Ike Harris (1971-73), who played on ISU's Liberty and Sun Bowl teams, and All-American Luther Blue (1974-76) round out the four football standouts in this year's class.

Swimmer Jenni Adams Keitges is the only female inductee. She was an All-American and four-time all-Big Eight performer for the Cyclones from 1988 to 1991.

"This weekend never disappoints, as we get to see the true greats of Iowa State athletics recognized for their accomplishments," McGuire said. "The outpouring of emotion this weekend will be inspiring."

Festivities start with an induction banquet Friday, Sept. 7. The inductees will be honored at halftime of Saturday's 6 p.m. football game against the University of Northern Iowa.

Troy Davis

Troy Davis


2007 Athletics Hall of Fame inductees

Jenni Adams Keitgas, Swimming

Luther Blue, Football

Troy Davis, Football

Ike Harris, Football

Kevin Jackson, Wrestling

Merv Krakau, Football

Mike Land, Wrestling

Jason Smith, Wrestling

George Veenker, Football Coach/Administrator