Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

July 19, 2007


Excellence in art education award

Barbara Caldwell, associate professor of art and design, received the 2007 Kathy Connors Award from the Women's Caucus of the National Art Education Association. This award recognizes an art educator who has dedicated his or her career to excellence in teaching, mentoring and collaboration.

Professional Perspective Award

Cory Harms, associate director of purchasing, received the National Association of Educational Procurement's Professional Perspective Award for best article in the NAEP Journal.

Higher education scholars honored at national conference

Three scholars in educational leadership and policy studies were honored at the joint conference of the American College Personnel Association and the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators. Laura Rendon, professor and department chair, earned the outstanding faculty award from the Latino Knowledge Community. Associate professor Flo Hamrick was named an ACPA Diamond honoree for her contributions to higher education and student affairs. Penny Rice, women's center director, was presented the outstanding teacher, trainer or mentor award from the ACPA Commission on Social Justice.

Iowa Juneteenth Award recipient

Daniel Robinson, University Professor in education leadership and policy studies, was named 2007 Educator of the Year and received the Mary McLeod Bethune Award from the Iowa Juneteenth Observance. The award recognizes an individual for his or her positive influence on the mental and physical development of young people, particularly in the African American community.

Advisers of the year

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences' Lee Burras and Howard Tyler were named the 2006-07 Advisers of the Year by the University Academic Advising Committee. The college advisers of the year are: Steven Lonergan, Agriculture; Stephanie Larson, Business; Tara Clapp, Design; Vicky Thorland-Oster, Engineering; Carol Cordell; Human Sciences; and James Holtz, Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Communications Excellence

The Association for Communications Excellence presented awards to:

  • Sherry Hoyer, Steve Hart, Jon Anderson and Lisa Scarbrough -- gold award for DVD "NSR Purebreds: Roadmap to Profit"
  • Jane Lenahan and Lynette Spicer -- silver award for 2006 integrated strategic recruiting plan for cooperative bachelor's degree programs between ISU and Lanzhou Jiaotong University, China
  • Barb McBreen -- silver award for a Viewmaster, customized slide disc and brochure to promote the College of Agriculture at California college fairs
  • Jed Findlay, Jon Anderson, Jane Lenahan and Barb Abbott -- bronze award for a "Strengthening Families" DVD
  • Diane Nelson -- bronze award for a "Home Landscape" publication

Baldrige examiner

Christopher Ahoy, associate vice president for facilities, has been appointed to the 2007 board of examiners for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The board includes about 500 leading experts from industry; professional, trade, education and health care organizations; and government. The Baldrige award is the highest national recognition a U.S. organization can receive for performance excellence.