Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

June 28, 2007



Yong Guan, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, has received a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation to fund his research in wireless security.

Outstanding educator

Larry Cormicle, senior lecturer in civil, construction and environmental engineering, received the "Outstanding Educator of the Year" Award from the Associated General Contractors of America.

State advisers

Arne Hallam, professor of economics, and Liesl Eathington, director of the Office of Social and Economic Trend Analysis, were named to the Iowa Council of Economic Advisors by Gov. Chet Culver. The 13-member council advises Iowa leaders on economic trends and activities and recommends policies to improve the state's economic health.

MANRRS division president

Aurelio Curbelo, program assistant in the College of Agriculture, was elected president of the graduate student division of the national Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANRRS) organization. A past president of the ISU MANRRS chapter, Curbelo works with the college's multicultural programs and is heading the George Washington Carver internship program this summer.

Teacher fellow award

Ann Marie VanDerZanden, horticulture associate professor, received the teacher fellow award from the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture.

Excellence award

Paul Coates, political science associate professor and director of the office of state and local government programs, earned the 2007 Institute Director Award of Excellence from the International Institute of Municipal Clerks.

Distance learning honors

Three Iowa State educators received awards from the Iowa Distance Learning. Association. They are: Steffen Schmidt, University Professor of political science; Madeleine Henry, professor of classical studies; and Julio Rodriguez, director of the Language Studies Resource Center.

Grand Prize for university research

Hans van Leeuwen, professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering; and Jacek Koziel, agricultural and biosystems engineering assistant professor; were awarded the Grand Prize for University Research from the American Academy of Environmental Engineers. The award recognizes their discovery of a more effective way of purifying alcohol using ozone and activated carbon.

Knight award

Jean Goodwin, associate professor of English; Russell Mullen, professor of agronomy; and Gina McAndrews, lecturer in agronomy; co-authored the 2007 K.B. Knight Award's outstanding journal article, given by the National Association of Colleges of Teachers in Agriculture (NACTA). "Using Environmental and Ethical Issues for Debate in an Introductory Agronomy Course" was published in the NACTA Journal.

CALICO award

Volker Hegelheimer, associate professor of English, received the top award for published articles in the CALICO Journal. He co-authored "Grammar, Writing, and Technology: A Sample Technology-Supported Approach to Teaching Grammar and Improving Writing for ESL Learners" with Ph.D. student David Fisher.

National environmental award

Daryl Herzmann, a meteorologist in the agronomy department, was honored by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration with its Environmental Hero Award for creating the Iowa Environmental Mesonet at Iowa State. It's a Web site that provides current atmospheric and hydrological observations, weather, roadway pavement data, agricultural soil information and climatology.