Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

Feb. 9, 2007

Search for Ames Laboratory director begins

by Diana Pounds

The search is under way for the next director of the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory. Leading the 14-member search committee is Bruce Thompson, Distinguished Professor in materials science and engineering and director of the Center for Nondestructive Evaluation.

The new director will succeed Thomas J. Barton, who has served as director since 1988 and plans to return to ISU's chemistry faculty at the end of February.

John Brighton, vice president for research and economic development, said he hopes the next Ames Lab director will be named by Aug. 1.

Joining Thompson on the search committee are:

  • Iver Anderson, adjunct professor, materials science and engineering
  • Diane Birt, Distinguished Professor, food science and human nutrition
  • Cynthia Jenks, scientist, chemistry
  • Mark Kushner, dean, College of Engineering
  • Richard LeSar, professor and chair, materials science and engineering
  • Surya Mallapragada, professor, chemical and biological engineering
  • Jake Petrich, professor and chair, chemistry
  • Eli Rosenberg, professor and chair, physics and astronomy
  • Costas Soukoulis, Distinguished Professor, physics and astronomy
  • Patricia Thiel, Distinguished Professor, chemistry
  • Mike Whiteford, dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Ed Yeung, Distinguished Professor, chemistry
  • Chitra Rajan, associate vice president for research

Ames Laboratory, celebrating its 60th anniversary in 2007, is operated for the Department of Energy by Iowa State. The lab conducts research into various areas of national concern, including energy resources, high-speed computer design, environmental clean-up and restoration, and the synthesis and study of new materials.


A search committee has been created to find the next director of the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory.