Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

Nov. 3, 2006


National board member

Jon Ryan, state director of the Iowa Small Business Development Centers, has been elected to the national board of directors of the Association of Small Business Development Centers. He joins eight other state directors from across the nation.

Pfizer research award

Vlastislav Bracha, associate professor of biomedical sciences, received the 2006 Pfizer Award for Research Excellence. The award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health, recognizes outstanding research that has attained, or is likely to attain, national recognition. Bracha's research focuses on how the nervous system is involved in the memory process and in the generation of predictive automatic responses.

Christian earns national, state honors

Al Christian, superintendent at the ISU Swine Teaching Farm, received the Hall of Fame Award at the National Barrow Show. He received the Iowa Berkshire Lifetime Achievement at the 2006 Iowa State Fair. The award recognizes those who have made lifetime contributions to the improvement of Berkshire hogs.

FP&M earns commitment award

Facilities planning and management received the 2006 Examiner Commitment Award from the Iowa Recognition for Performance Excellence program. FP&M had nine examiners participate in the State Baldrige Program, the most from any organization. It is the second time ISU has earned the honor in the award's three-year history.

Sebranek honored by meat science association

Joseph Sebranek, University Professor in animal science, was awarded the 2006 American Meat Science Association Signal Service Award. This honor is given to association members for devoted service and lasting contributions to the meat industry and the association.

USDA honors Yang for soybean rust work

ISU plant pathologist X.B. Yang received the USDA Secretary's Honor Award during a recent ceremony in Washington, D.C. The honor, among the USDA's most prestigious, was given to Yang and other members of a USDA team working to manage soybean rust in the United States.


Submit honors to More honors can be found on the online honors page.