Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

July 17, 2006

Geoffroy names new budget model committee

by Diana Pounds

President Gregory Geoffroy has named the committee that will coordinate the university-wide review of a new budget model for Iowa State and develop plans for implementing the model.

Douglas Epperson, associate dean in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, will chair the 16-member Budget Model Review and Implementation Committee.

The new committee is a follow-up to the Budget Model Development Committee, which spent the past year studying and developing various budget options for the university. That committee concluded its work in early July when it submitted its final report to the president. Among recommendations in that report were continued review and refinement of the budget model by the university community.

The new committee will take up that charge, coordinating the review, informing various constituencies about the model and the budget tools to support it, and developing a detailed plan to implement the model.

Geoffroy also has asked the university vice presidents to develop a process for reviewing the report within their divisions and provide him with recommendations by Dec. 15. Faculty, staff and students can continue to send their comments on the report and budget model to

The committee includes members from each of the colleges, the Library, Extension, Research, Information Technology Services, Student Affairs, Business and Finance, the Office of the Provost, Faculty Senate, and P&S Council.

Committee members

Following are Budget Model Review and Implementation Committee members and the areas they represent.

  • Douglas Epperson, committee chair, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Tom Andre, College of Human Sciences
  • Tim Borich, College of Design
  • Joe Colletti, College of Agriculture
  • Rick Dark, College of Business
  • Jack Girton, Faculty Senate
  • Laurie Gustafson, Extension
  • Todd Holcomb, Student Affairs
  • Kevin Kane, P&S Council
  • Renee Knosby, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Olivia Madison, Library
  • Johnny Pickett, Business and Finance
  • David Popelka, Information Technology Services
  • Chitra Rajan, Research
  • Ellen Rasmussen, Office of the Provost
  • Arun Somani, College of Engineering

Budget model site


The new Budget Model Review and Implementation Committee will coordinate review and refinement of the budget model by the university community.