Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

June 29, 2006


Environmental Excellence Award

The Skunk River Navy, a volunteer team of students, ISU employees and Ames residents who, since 1998, have pulled tens of thousands of pounds of trash out of the Skunk River each fall, has received a 2005 Governor's Iowa Environmental Excellence Award. Associate professor of ecology, evolution and organismal biology Jim Colbert founded the group; Colbert and Jim Holtz, academic adviser in the biology program, coordinate its activities.

Planning awards

Julia Badenhope, associate professor of landscape architecture, has received state, multi-state and national-level planning awards in peer-reviewed competitions. The awards are, respectively: the American Planning Association Award for Best Program, the American Society of Landscape Architects Honor Award for Planning, and the American Planning Association's Award for Excellence for Best Program.

Professional certification

Dorothy Fowles, professor of interior design, has earned the credential LC (Lighting Certified) through the National Council on Qualifications for the Lighting Professions. She is one of just 10 LC designers in Iowa. The council certifies practitioners who demonstrate they have acquired the knowledge, understanding and ability to apply lighting principles and techniques.

Master teacher

Eric Cooper, associate professor of psychology, has been named the Jerry Shakeshaft Master Teacher in Humanities and Social Sciences for the 2006-07 academic year.

Broadcast Awards

WOI Radio's Hollis Monroe received four Eric Severeid Awards from the Northwest Broadcast News Association for his "Oppenheimer and the Carlson Lecture Series," which he wrote and produced. The story placed first in the investigative and documentary divisions for medium radio markets. It also earned merit awards in the features, as well as use of audio, categories.

Journal's "promising scientist"

Malika Jeffries-El, assistant professor of chemistry and the Geoffroy Faculty Fellow, has been awarded the Emerald Honor for most promising scientist by Science Spectrum magazine.

NSF Early Career award

Pranav Shrotriya, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, has been awarded a Faculty Early Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation. The award provides funding for integrated research/teaching plans for five years. His research will investigate basic phenomena related to surface stress generation due to absorption/adsorption of molecules.


Submit honors to More honors may be found on the online honors page.