Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

March 10, 2006


Book editor

Margo Kitts, lecturer in religious studies and classical studies, is a co-editor of Princeton Readings in Religion and Violence, to be published in 2007 by Princeton University Press. It is a collection of readings on theories of ritualized violence as well as writings by advocates of religious violence. The co-editor is Mark Juergensmeyer, U-C, Santa Barbara.

NIH reviewer

Alicia Carriquiry, professor of statistics, has accepted a term as a member of a grant review team for the National Institutes of Health Center for Scientific Review. She will serve on the Kidney, Nutrition, Obesity and Diabetes Study Section through June 30, 2008.

Foundation president

Curtis Youngs, associate professor in the departments of animal science and veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine, has been elected president of the International Embryo Transfer Society Foundation.

Faculty development award

Laura Rendon, an expert on Latino and higher education studies, is the first recipient of the Rossmann Manatt Faculty Development Award, which recognizes creativity and productivity in scholarship, teaching and service. Administered by the provost, the award alternates between tenured faculty in the colleges of Agriculture and Human Sciences.

NSF Early Career Award

Computer scientist Andrew Miner has received an NSF Early Career Award of $400,000 for a five-year research project to develop software that better analyzes the ability of computer and communication systems before they are built.

Editorial board members of new journal

Two agronomy faculty members, Randy Shoemaker and Kendall Lamkey, will serve on the editorial board of "The Plant Genome," a new quarterly publication launched by the Crop Science Society of America. Shoemaker also will serve as technical editor for the peer-reviewed journal. The publication will demonstrate the link between genome-level research and improving crops. The debut issue, in print and online editions, will be released later this year.

National soil award

Antonio Mallarino, professor of agronomy and ISU Extension specialist in soil fertility, has received the 2005 Werner L. Nelson Award from the Fluid Fertilizer Foundation. The award recognizes demonstrated leadership, innovation, insight and integrity in the use of fertilizer to maximize crop yields.

Sloan fellowship recipient

Ruslan Prozorov, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, has been awarded a two-year, $45,000 Sloan Foundation Research Fellowship. The fellowships provide support and recognition to early career scientists and scholars who are endeavoring to set up laboratories and establish their independent research projects.


Submit honors to More honors may be found on the online honors page.