Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

May 20, 2005


Master educator

Jane Peterson, professor in the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, has had her Master Journalism Educator status renewed by the Journalism Education Association Certification Commission. The status is based on contributions to the development and enhancement of journalism education and is reviewed every five years.

Gold award

University photographer Bob Elbert and agriculture communications specialist Barb McBreen received a gold award from the Association for Communications Excellence for an exhibit on scholarships called "Faces of Giving."

National excellence in information assurance

Iowa State University has been redesignated a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education (2005-2008) by the National Security Agency and U.S. Department of Homeland Security. The designation recognizes ISU's ability to meet increasingly demanding criteria in helping protect the country's information infrastructure.

Ethics research award

Michael Bugeja, professor and director of the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, has received the 2005 Clifford G. Christians Ethics Research Award from the Iowa-based Carl Couch Center for Social and Internet Research. The award recognizes Bugeja's contribution to journalism and publication of his book, Interpersonal Divide: The Search for Community in a Technological Age.

Rural builders hall of fame

Bill Koenig, an engineer with MidWest Plan Service located in the department of agricultural and biosystems engineering, has been inducted into the Rural Builders Hall of Fame by the National Frame Builders Association.

Engineer of year

Tom Glanville, agricultural and biosystems engineering, has been named Engineer of the Year by the Mid-Central American Soceity of Agricultural Engineering. Glanville's expertise is in water quality and environmental pollution prevention.

Guggenheim fellowship recipient

James Dow, professor emeritus of foreign languages and literatures, has been awarded a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship. He will use the award to prepare the most extensive grammar of the Cymbrian language ever published. Cymbrian still is spoken primarily by about 300 inhabitants of Lusern and a few other small villages in northern Italy.

New faculty awards

Two faculty members in the agricultural and biosystems engineering department were honored recently at the Iowa Section meeting of the American Society of Agricultural Engineers. Assistant professor Amy Kaleita was named the Newcomer of the Year. Assistant professor Brian Steward was presented the Young Engineer of the Year award.

Honor society awards

The Iowa chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture (Gamma Sigma Delta) recently recognized three College of Agriculture faculty who have helped Iowa State achieve its mission in the areas of extension, research and teaching. M. Douglas Kenealy, animal science, was honored for his teaching; Joel Coats, entomology, for research; and William Edwards, economics, for his efforts in extension.

Faculty Recognition Award

Agriculture dean Catherine Woteki recently received a Faculty Recognition Award from the Division of Student Affairs. She was honored for her contribution to student affairs and Iowa State students, specifically her work as chair of the Veishea Task Force.

Research grant

David Hunter, the Monsignor James A. Supple Chair of Catholic Studies in the philosophy and religious studies department, received a Christian Faith and Life Grant from the Louisville Institute, to research and write a book on the history of clerical celibacy.

CYtation Award winners

Winners of the Professional and Scientific Council's citation award this spring are: Gloria Erickson, facilities, planning and management; Mark Hawley, animal science department; Anne Krapfl, university relations; Pandora Lamar, Partnerships in Prevention Science Institute; Brian Meyer, College of Agriculture; Larry Patrick, Institute for Social and Behavioral Research; Allan Schmidt, Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching; and Susan Ziegenbusch, agricultural and biosystems engineering. The award recognizes P&S staff for extraordinary performance.


Chris Ahoy, associate vice president for facilities, recently was selected president-elect of the APPA, the Association of Higher Education Facilities Officers.

Advisers of the year

Eight advisers have been selected for 2004-2005 Adviser of the Year Awards. University Advisers of the Year, selected by the provost's office, are Nick Christians and Mary Joyce VeVerka. College Advisers of the Year, selected by each of colleges, are Barb Osborn, Ben Chamberlain, Mimi Wagner, Cindy Frederickson, Steven Mickelson, Nancy Meredith, Thomas Greenbowe and Mark Ackermann. A display honoring the advisers will be on the Memorial Union ground floor during June. More info and adviser photos.


Submit honors to More honors may be found on the online honors page.