Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

April 15, 2005

2005-06 Distinguished and University professors named

by Diana Pounds

Six Iowa State faculty members have been awarded the titles of Distinguished Professor or University Professor. They are:

  • Craig Anderson, Distinguished Professor in Liberal Arts and Sciences. Anderson, chair of the psychology department, is internationally known for his work on human aggression, particularly media and video game violence.
  • Costas Soukoulis, Distinguished Professor in Liberal Arts and Sciences. Soukoulis, professor of physics and astronomy, is a world leader in four fields of theoretical condensed matter physics.
  • William David, University Professor. A music professor and founding member of the internationally acclaimed Ames Piano Quartet, David has had a long-lasting impact on Iowa State through his work on curriculum committees at the university and college levels.
  • Mark Power, University Professor. Finance professor Power has had a major role in developing benefits policies for ISU employees over the past 18 years. His work has generated significant savings to the university and to the participants in Iowa State health plans.
  • Ann Thompson, University Professor. Curriculum and instruction professor Thompson has been an international leader in helping educators use new technologies. She was instrumental in developing Iowa State's Center for Technology in Teacher Education.
  • Stephen Vardeman, University Professor. Statistics professor Vardeman has had a broad impact on campus through teaching and service. By using statistics to solve problems, he has improved Iowa products and the services provided by state government and federal agencies.

The title of Distinguished Professor, first awarded in 1956, recognizes faculty members for exemplary performance in at least two of the following areas: teaching and advising; research, scholarship or artistic creativity; and extension, university service or professional practice. A $3,000 addition in base salary is granted.

The title of University Professor recognizes faculty members who have had a significant impact on their departments and the university in the course of their careers at Iowa State. The recipient receives a base salary addition of $2,500.

The new Distinguished and University professors will be honored during the university convocation in September.


The title of Distinguished Professor was first awarded in 1956.