Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

April 15, 2005



Mike Andresen, athletic turf manager for Iowa State University, was selected president-elect of the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA). Andresen has served on the STMA board since 2000. He will serve as STMA president in 2007.

Rare-earth research

John Corbett, Distinguished Professor of chemistry, is the 11th recipient of the annual Spedding Award, which recognizes achievement in rare-earth research. Corbett, also a senior chemist at the U.S. Department of Energy's Ames Laboratory, is the third Ames Lab researcher to receive the award.

Above and beyond

Susan Hegland and Carla Peterson, both associate professors of human development and family studies, and Lesia Oesterreich, family life extension specialist, are among more than 40 Iowans recognized as part of the state's "Above and Beyond" recognition program. The yearlong series of ceremonies created by the governor's office recognizes those making significant contributions to the well-being of Iowa's children.

International service

Robert Mazur, associate professor of sociology, has received the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences' Award for Distinguished International Service. Mazur is the director of the Sustainable Rural Livelihoods program, which tackles hunger and poverty through international partnerships.

Journal editor

Clyde Thogmartin, associate professor emeritus of foreign languages and literatures, has been appointed linguistics editor of the French Review, the largest-circulation journal of French studies.

Master teacher

Kathleen Hickok, professor of English, has been named the Jerry Shakeshaft Master Teacher in Humanities and Social Sciences for the 2005-06 academic year in the LAS college. The award is presented annually to an outstanding teacher in the humanities and social sciences.

Bronze medalist

Executive chef Karla Boetel, representing ISU Dining, earned a bronze medal at the National Association of College and University Food Services' regional "Culinary Challenge" March 22 at the University of Kansas.


Honors are printed in Inside on a space-
available basis.

Submit honors to More honors may be found on the online honors page.