Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

December 10, 2004


Volunteer award

Michelle King, sales coordinator at the Iowa State Center, received a Governor's Volunteer Award for her work as president of the Central Iowa Tourism Region.

Exemplary service award

Associate registrar Laura Doering received an Exemplary Service Award from the Upper Midwest Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers. The award recognizes Doering's contributions to the association as its former president and leader of its recent incorporation project.

Judging panel member

Chris Ahoy, associate vice president for facilities, will serve on a judging panel for a national engineering project competition sponsored by the American Council of Engineering Companies.

Research recognition

L.K. Doraiswamy, Distinguished Professor in chemical engineering, received the William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to the Chemical Engineering Literature from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. He was recognized for "defining the field of organic synthesis engineering in his treatise on the subject."

National officer

Richard Seagrave, Distinguished Professor emeritus in chemical engineering, is the 2004-05 president-elect for the Accreditation Board for the Engineering and Technology Inc., the accrediting body for college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering and technology.


Kris Phelps, manager of off-campus credit programs and distance education for continuing education and communication services, was elected vice president-elect of the U.S. Distance Learning Association. Phelps also serves as president of the Iowa Distance Learning Association.

Business communication awards

Four English professors recently received awards from the Association for Business Communication. Margaret Graham received the Outstanding Researcher Award for her work on the way supervisors in different organizations request information. Dorothy Winsor received the Distinguished Publication on Business Communication Award for her book, Writing Power: Communication in an Engineering Center. Helen Ewald and Roberta Vann received the Best Article Award for "You're a Guaranteed Winner: Composing 'You' in a Consumer Culture," which appeared in the Journal of Business Communication.

Equine award

The American Quarter Horse Association presented its 2004 Legacy Award to the department of animal science equine program. The award recognizes individuals and organizations that have bred and registered quarter horses for 50 consecutive years.

Leadership awards

Cornelia Flora, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor of Agriculture and sociology, received a special award from the U.S. Forest Service in recognition of her "outstanding contribution to developing community-based, collaborative approaches to natural resource management and conservation internationally." In addition, Flora is one of 14 women "agents of change" in Anna Anderson's new book, Women and Sustainable Agriculture.

Innovation award

An Iowa State team received a 2004 Innovation Award from the Professional and Organizational Development Network for its project "Just in Time Faculty Development: Teaching Tips and Video Clips." The team included project leader Corly Brooke, director of the Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT); Pam Milloy, CELT program coordinator (now at Grand View College); Jim Twetten, interim director of the Instructional Technology Center (ITC); and the ITC creative services production group. The video clips are available for download (must have Real Player) under "Virtual Classroom Visits" at

New president

Steve Fales, chair of the agronomy department, was selected the 2004-2005 president-elect of the Crop Science Society of America. He will begin his term as president next November.

Agronomy fellow

Jeff Wolt, professor of agronomy, was named a fellow of the American Society of Agronomy. Fellows are selected for their achievements and service.

Publication awards

Palle Pedersen, assistant professor of agronomy, was honored by the American Society of Agronomy (ASA) for excellence in education materials for the ISU Extension publication Soybean Growth and Development. The ISU Crop Adviser Institute received six awards from ASA for excellence in educational materials for its distance education modules.

Research award

Alfred Blackmer, professor of agronomy, received the Carl Sprengel Agronomic Research Award from the American Society of Agronomy.


Honors are printed in Inside on a space-
available basis.

Submit honors to More honors may be found on the online honors page.