Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

October 8, 2004


CYtation winners

Nine P&S staff members received CYtation Awards from President Gregory Geoffroy Sept. 28. The award recognizes exceptional work and service to the university. Recipients for the quarter ending in April are: Michele Regenold, Center for Transportation Research and Education; John Hoffman, Facilities Planning and Management; Dave Pavlik, Continuing Education and Communication Services; and Kimberly Schroeder, College of Business. Recipients from the quarter ending in July are: Christine Deal, Hybridoma/Cell Facilities; Venita Currie, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Vicki Brubaker, Human Resource Services; Lenore Binen, Student Counseling Service; and Randy Beckett, department of plant pathology.

Five named LAS Master Teachers

Five faculty in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences have been named Master Teachers for 2004-05. They are Clifford Bergman, professor of mathematics and computer science; William Gallus, associate professor of geological and atmospheric sciences; Michael Mendelson, professor of English; Jill Pruetz, assistant professor of anthropology; and Mark Rectanus, professor of foreign languages and literatures. This is the sixth year of the LAS Master Teacher program, which recognizes teachers who have a reputation for using unique methods to enhance student learning.

Excellence recognition

Former engineering dean James Melsa recently received the Baldrige Award from the Iowa Quality Center for pioneering the Iowa Recognition Performance Excellence (IRPE) program in Iowa in 1999. Associate vice president for facilities planning and management Chris Ahoy received the 2004 IRPE Examiner Commitment Award for providing leadership for the IRPE program.

On the 'A' list

Iowa State is listed by Buildings magazine editorial staff as being on the "A" list of who's who in the buildings market. Iowa State was cited for its "well-designed Master Plan, as well as its aggressive, energy-efficiency benchmarking and subsequent action plan."

First recipient

Edward Yeung, distinguished professor of chemistry and director of the chemical and biological sciences program at the Ames Laboratory, is the first recipient of the Ralph N. Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry. The award recognizes Yeung's outstanding scientific contributions that encompass many issues fundamental to bioanalysis.


Honors are printed in Inside on a space-
available basis.

Submit honors to More honors may be found on the online honors page.