Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

September 10, 2004


Fellow named

Thomas Harrington, professor of plant pathology, was named a fellow of the American Phytopathological Society for his distinguished contributions to the field.

Authorship awarded

Mark Gleason, extension plant pathologist and professor of plant pathology, received the American Phytopathological Society Lee M. Hutchins Award. The award is given to authors of published research on perennial fruit plants.

Folklore fellow

James Dow, professor of foreign languages and literatures, has been named a fellow of the American Folklore Society. Dow has devoted much of his recent work to writing the history of German and Austrian folklore, including its relationship with National Socialist ideology.

Council members

Diane Birt, Mary B. Welch Distinguished Professor in Family and Consumer Sciences, and Greg Phillips, associate professor of veterinary microbiology and preventive medicine, have been selected to serve three-year terms on Iowa State's Biotechnology Council. The council makes recommendations to the vice provost for research on programmatic activities supporting biotechnology education, research and outreach.

Hall of fame

Mary Ann Evans, founding director of ISU's Program for Women in Science and Engineering, was among four women inducted into the 2004 Iowa Women's Hall of Fame on Aug. 21. She retired from Iowa State in 2001.

Award for excellence

L. K. Doraiswamy, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering, has received the 2004 William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Doraiswamy is widely acknowledged as one of the founding fathers of modern chemical engineering in India and a leader in the field worldwide.

Petersen award

Lynette Pohlman, director and chief curator of University Museums, has received the 2004 Christian Petersen Design Award, presented by the College of Design. Pohlman received the award for her leadership and development of the University Museums.


Honors are printed in Inside on a space-
available basis.

Submit honors to More honors may be found on the online honors page.