Inside Iowa State

Inside Archives

Submit news

Send news for Inside to, or call (515) 294-7065. See publication dates, deadlines.

About Inside

Inside Iowa State, a newspaper for faculty and staff, is published by the Office of University Relations.

May 21, 2004


Two-time recipient

Mei Hong, associate professor of chemistry, has received the American Chemical Society (ACS) Award in Pure Chemistry and the 2004 Mary Lyon Award from Mount Holyoke College in Massachusetts. The ACS award recognizes fundamental research in pure chemistry carried out in North America by young men and women. Hong received the second award for achievements and contributions in the field of chemistry, especially in the use of nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy to study the structure and function of biological molecules.

Exceptional service

Stewart Melvin, professor of ag and biosystems engineering and director of the Water Resources Research Institute, received the Master Farmer Exceptional Service Award from Wallace's Farmer magazine. This award honors his career of helping farmers throughout his 32 years of Extension, his teaching and his active involvement with addressing environmental issues in agricultural systems.

Great roses

Reiman Gardens has been awarded the All American Rose Selection Certificate of Achievement for Outstanding Rose Maintenance. The Gardens has received this honor for nine consecutive years.


Richard Seagrave, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor Emeritus in chemical engineering, has been named president-elect of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology Inc., the leading accreditation body for college and university programs in applied sciences, computing, engineering and technology.


The Seed Testing Lab is the first seed-testing laboratory on a university campus to receive ISO 9001:2000 certification. The International Organization for Standardization, known as ISO, is a network of national standards used in 148 countries. The standards set during ISO certification ensure that participating organizations follow a series of procedures that assure the quality of its products and services.

Honor society awards in ag

Faculty members in the College of Agriculture have received awards from the Iowa chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta, an agriculture honor society. Eric Hoiberg, associate dean for academic programs, received the Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award of Merit, the highest award the society gives. The Research Mission Award went to Susan Lamont, professor of animal science. Tom Loynachan, professor of agronomy, received the Teaching Mission Award. The Extension Mission Award went to Elwynn Taylor, professor of agronomy and extension climatologist.

Honorary visiting professor

Steve Martin, professor of materials science and engineering, has been named a 2005 honorary visiting professor by Chalmers University of Technology, Goteborg, Sweden. The award is part of Chalmers' 175th anniversary celebration.

Distinguished faculty

Jacquelyn Litt, associate professor of sociology and interim director of women's studies, has been chosen for the Distinguished Faculty Award for 2004 by the Iowa chapter of the American Association of University Women.

National recognition

Assistant professors Tom Leslie and Jason Alread, department of architecture, recently were honored by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. Leslie received the Creative Achievement Award for the development of a seminar course, "Physics and Form: Construction and Performance as Architectural Vocabulary 1750-2000." Alred received the Faculty Design Award for his work on a structure at the University of Iowa, Iowa City.


Honors are printed in Inside on a space-available basis. More honors may be found on the online honors page.