Iowa State University nameplate

Inside Iowa State
Gold bar
May 18, 2001

Cheville is next Vet Med dean

by Teddi Barron
Norman Cheville, Distinguished Professor of veterinary pathology, was appointed to a three-year term as dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine, effective May 4. Cheville has served as interim dean of the college since October.

"Dr. Cheville's appointment was a strong recommendation of the search committee and has my most enthusiastic endorsement," said Provost Rollin Richmond. "I have asked Dean Cheville to work with his colleagues in Veterinary Medicine to strengthen the academic excellence of the college and work with the central administration to develop and implement a plan for the renovation of the Veterinary Teaching Hospital."

Cheville is a leading researcher on bovine brucellosis. He developed a vaccine that was important in eradicating this highly infectious disease. He was one of two researchers selected by the National Academy of Science in 1997 to investigate brucellosis transmission in bison and elk in the Greater Yellowstone Area.

Cheville worked at the National Animal Disease Center from 1963 to 1995, serving as research leader and chief of pathology and as research leader for brucellosis. He then served as chair of the veterinary pathology department at Iowa State for five years. He was interim chair of biomedical sciences from 1997 to 1999.

Cheville was elected a Distinguished Member of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists in 1999. He has received numerous national recognitions from the U.S. Department of Agriculture and industry for his brucellosis vaccine work. He is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and received the Distinguished Scientist Award from the Agricultural Research Service of the USDA in 1990.

Cheville succeeds Richard Ross, who was named dean of Agriculture in July. Ross had served as dean of Veterinary Medicine since 1993.

... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2001, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.