Iowa State University nameplate

Inside Iowa State
Gold bar
January 26, 2001

Master teachers excel in using technology

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences administrators have named six faculty as "master teachers" this year. The college started the master teacher program a year ago when it recognized teachers who excelled at teaching large classes. The six in this year's group were selected for their innovative use of technology in teaching. They are: David Stuart, music; Tom Ingebritsen, zoology and genetics; Doug Yarger, geology and atmospheric sciences; Rebecca Burnett, English; Steffen Schmidt, political science; and Bob Stephenson, statistics.

In cooperation with the Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE), the six will lead a faculty forum discussion in February. Each faculty member also will lead a workshop this semester on his or her technological specialty.

The faculty forum and dinner will be held Tuesday, Feb. 20, in the Memorial Union Campanile Room. Dinner begins at 6 p.m., with discussion following at 6:45 p.m. The forum will be repeated from noon to 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 21, in the Campanile Room. Bring your own lunch. The CTE will provide beverages and dessert.

Following are details on the six free workshops (reservations requested, contact Jane Henning, 4-2906,
  • Feb. 28, noon-1:30 p.m., Stuart, "Using Technology in Performance-based Presentations," Tye Hall, Music Building.
  • March 5, 3-4:30 p.m., Ingebritsen, "How to Teach a Course on the Internet -- Project BIO," 1230 Communications.
  • March 22, 3:30-5 p.m., Yarger, "Using Technology to Create Learning Environments," 1140 Howe.
  • March 28, 3:30-5 p.m., Burnett, "Formative Feedback via Technology," 1230 Communications.
  • April 5, 2-4:30 p.m., Stephenson, "Technology for Distance Education," 1344 Howe.
  • April 17, 3:30-5 p.m., Schmidt, "Enhancing Traditional Teaching with Technology," 1230 Communications.

... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2001, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.