Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
September 10, 1999

Search begins for vice provost for research and graduate studies

by Diana Pounds
A newly appointed committee has begun the search for Iowa State's next vice provost for research and graduate studies. Led by Vice Provost for Extension Stan Johnson, the committee will seek a successor to Patricia Swan, who will retire from administrative duties at the end of fall semester.

The vice provost for research and graduate studies advances research interests with federal agencies and other sponsors of major research efforts; coordinates and administers research, graduate programs, technology transfer and research services; and is responsible for administration of the Graduate College. Among technology transfer programs coordinated by the vice provost are the Office of Intellectual Property and Technology Transfer, the ISU Research Foundation, Iowa State Innovation System and ISU Research Park.

"The environment for conducting and supporting research is changing quickly and will continue to be intensely competitive," Johnson said. "We hope to identify candidates who will be energized by the opportunity to provide leadership at Iowa State, and urge the faculty and staff to help identify persons who have the potential to advance the research agenda of the university."

Nominations for the position should include the name and address of the nominee and should be sent to: Stanley Johnson, Search Committee Chair, 107 Beardshear; fax: (515) 294-8844; email:

The position description and instructions for applicants can be obtained from the Office of the Provost and will be posted soon on the provost Web site at

Johnson said the committee's goal is to begin reviewing applications Oct. 20 and complete the search by the end of the year.

The 16 committee members are: Johnson; Julia Badenhope, associate professor, landscape architecture; Diane Birt, chair, food science and human nutrition; George Covert, associate director, Computation Center; Charles Glatz, chair, chemical engineering; Dermot Hayes, professor, economics business; George McJimsey, chair, history; Olivia Madison, dean, library services; Allen Miller, professor, plant pathology; Peter Rabideau, dean, liberal arts and sciences; Valerie Sheares, assistant professor, chemistry; Brad Thacker, professor, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine; Jerry Thomas, chair, health and human performance; Bruce Thompson, director, Center for Nondestructive Evaluation; Ian Zelaya, graduate student, agronomy; and Faye Whitaker, assistant provost, Provost Office.

Swan, who has been at Iowa State 10 years, plans to take a one-year leave of absence to work at the Eskind Biomedical Library's special collections department at Vanderbilt University, Nashville. When she returns to Iowa State, she will finish a book she is writing on the history of the ISU Research Foundation.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1999, Iowa State University, all rights reserved

Revised 9/9/99