Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
March 5, 1999

Strategic plan review is rolling

by Linda Charles

A committee has started work on review and revision of the university's strategic plan. The revised plan will cover the years 2000 to 2005. Under the tentative timeline, the plan may be presented to the State Board of Regents next November.

The six strategic planning goals are sound and likely to remain un-changed, although the language could be sharpened, said Rab Mukerjea, assistant to the president for budget planning and analysis. President Martin Jischke is seeking input on revisions to the plan, including strategies to achieve the goals and benchmarks to measure success.

The strategic planning committee, co-chaired by Mukerjea and Dean Ulrichson, president-elect of the Faculty Senate, will seek input from various groups. Among the groups to be contacted will be the Faculty Senate, Professional and Scientific Council, Supervisory and Confidential Council, Government of the Student Body and Graduate Student Senate.

In addition, input will be sought from the provost, vice provost and vice presidential areas and from deans, directors, department executive officers and managers, and faculty, staff and students, Mukerjea said.

Committee members will review input and prepare a draft of the revised plan with specific strategies and benchmark measures linked to outcomes assessments. The draft is expected to be completed by May 15 and sent to Jischke, Mukerjea said.

Over the summer and fall, Jischke will review the draft plan and solicit comments and suggestions. Open forums to discuss the plan will be held in early fall, and the committee will assist Jischke in finalizing the plan for review and approval by the regents.

Members of the ISU community may send their questions, comments or suggestions to Mukerjea (e-mail or Ulrichson (

The current strategic plan is online at

Joining Mukerjea and Ulrichson on the strategic planning committee are Christopher Ahoy, associate vice president for facilities; Rob Bowers, P&S Council chair; Corly Petersen Brooke, Center for Teaching Excellence director; Carole Custer, university marketing director; Cindy Eckhart, Supervisory and Confidential Council chair; and Carla Espinoza, assistant vice president for human resource services.

Also, Tom Hill, vice president for student affairs; Robert Hollinger, philosophy and religious studies professor; Mary Huba, educational leadership and policy studies professor; Stan Johnson, vice provost for extension; Tim Keller, landscape architecture DEO; Michael Kenealy, animal science University Professor; Carol Meeks, College of Family and Consumer Sciences dean; Derrick Rollins, chemical engineering associate professor; and James Roth, College of Veterinary Medicine Distinguished Professor.

Also, Peter Siegel, Academic Information Technology director; Roy Teas, College of Business Distinguished Professor; Denise Vrchota, Faculty Senate president; Lee Anne Willson, physics and astronomy University Professor; Alex Olson, Government of the Student Body; and Kari Azevedo, Graduate Student Senate.

Faculty Senate action

The Faculty Senate held a special meeting March 2 to discuss what should be included in the new strategic plan. Among the suggestions for the plan that will cover 2000 to 2005 were:

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1999, Iowa State University, all rights reserved

Revised 03/04/99