Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
December 11, 1998


Engineering faculty awards

Five faculty members in the College of Engineering recently were honored for exceptional achievements. Christopher Schilling, associate professor of materials science and engineering, received the Young Engineering Faculty Research Award for his original research, scholarly contributions to literature and introduction of new or improved laboratory techniques. Ken Kruempel, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the Superior Engineering Extension Award for his responsiveness to client needs, innovative and resourceful programming, appropriate use of delivery methods, client satisfaction and dedication to the college's extension mission. Judy Vance, associate professor of mechanical engineering, and Douglas Jacobson, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, received Superior Engineering Teaching awards for their development and application of innovative teaching techniques. Patrick Patterson, associate professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, received the Superior Engineering Advisor Award, which is based on evaluations by students, faculty and the engineering classification officer.

Elected fellow

David Jiles, professor of electrical and computer engineering and materials science and engineering, was elected a fellow of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications. Colleagues from England's University of Hull and the University of Warwick nominated Jiles for his work on computer modeling of magnetic materials. Jiles holds appointments as senior physicist at Ames Laboratory and senior scientist at the Center for Nondestructive Evaluation.

Staff support award

Arleen Faeth, residence department secretary, received the Support Staff Recognition Award from the Association of College and University Housing Offices, Upper Midwest Region. The award recognizes the efforts of support staff who make exceptional contributions to the success of students and staff. Faeth was noted for her caring attitude, attention to detail and ability to see the "big picture," exceptional service to staff and students, and dedication to students.

National ag awards

Several members of the College of Agriculture faculty were honored at the annual conference of the National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA). Greg Miller, associate professor of agricultural education studies, received the Jack Everly Journal Award for his article, "Cognitive Style Preferences of Agricultural Distant Learners." The article appeared in the December 1997 issue of the NACTA Journal. Curtis Youngs, associate professor of animal science and director of his department's sheep farm, received a NACTA Teacher Fellow Award. The award reflects evaluations by current and former students, peers and administrators, as well as a personal statement of teaching philosophy. Ron Deiter, professor of economics, received the Central Region John Deere Award, which recognizes outstanding teachers and programs in ag business, technology or management. Deiter coordinates ISU's undergraduate ag business program.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1998, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 12/10/98