Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
October 23, 1998

Faculty, staff receive Ukrainian awards

by Steve Jones

President Martin Jischke has been awarded the Order of Merit by the president of Ukraine, Leonid Kuchma. The Order of Merit is the highest honor bestowed upon a non-Ukrainian by the Ukrainian government.

Jischke's award was one of 13 presented to ISU faculty and staff for their work with the National Agricultural University of Ukraine (NAUU). ISU and NAUU have collaborated since 1994 on a program to revise the Ukrainian institution's curriculum. More than 60 ISU and NAUU faculty have participated in exchanges to expand educational opportunities for Ukrainian and ISU students. (See related consortium story.)

Provost John Kozak and College of Agriculture Dean David Topel also received awards. Both received a commendation and medal from the Ukrainian prime minister, Valeriy Pustovoitenko. Kozak and Topel's awards are the highest bestowed by the prime minister.

Ten faculty and staff members were awarded honorary professorships in the NAAU: David Acker, director, International Agriculture Programs; Benjamin Allen, dean, College of Business; Carl Anderson, associate professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering; Steve Jungst, professor of forestry; Doug Kenealy, professor of animal science; John Kluge, professor of veterinary pathology; Tom Loynachan, professor and interim head, agronomy; Wade Miller, professor of agricultural education and studies; Richard Ross, dean, College of Veterinary Medicine; Victor Udin, program assistant, International Agriculture Programs.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1998, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 10/22/98