Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
August 28, 1998


Reviewer of the Year

Howard Van Auken, associate professor of management, was selected the Reviewer of the Year by the Journal of Small Business Management. Published by West Virginia University and the Inter-national Council for Small Business, the journal is read in nearly 80 countries. Van Auken has served on the review board for six years and reviewed dozens of manuscripts. The Reviewer of the Year reflects years of service, and number and quality of manuscript reviews provided.

Technical literature award

Ted Okiishi, associate dean of engineering and professor of mechanical engineering, is one of six team members who received the 1998 George Wallace Melville Award for their four-part paper, "Boundary Layer Development in Axial Compressors and Turbines," which appeared in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers' Journal of Turbomachinery. The Melville Medal is the highest honor the society bestows for technical literature.

Their discovery on the predictable flow of fluids through a gas turbine engine will result in new engine designs that use fewer blades and are more compact and effective. Okiishi worked with three engineers from GE Aircraft Engines in Ohio, including former ISU student David Halstead; and engineers from the universities of Tasmania and Cambridge.

Institute fellow

The Institute of Industrial Engineers named Pius Egbelu, professor and chair of the department of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, a fellow. The institute recognized Egbelu for his 20 years of teaching, research and engineering contributions. His teaching and research interests include manufacturing systems analysis, material handling, robotics and computer simulation.

Distinguished achievement

Jerry Young, professor of animal science, received the 1997- 98 Distinguished Achievement Award from the Berry (College) Alumni Association, Mount Berry, Ga. The award recognizes outstanding leadership within an organization or distinguished achievements in an occupational field. Young's research at Iowa State is in two areas: the metabolism and nutrient partitioning of high-producing dairy cows, and the potential effects on human health of consuming animal products.

NEH fellowship

Marie Lathers, associate professor of French, received a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship for college teachers for the academic year 1998-99. With it she will complete a book project, Bodies of Art: The Female Model in Nineteenth-Century French Literature.

Blue ribbons

Five MidWest Plan Service (MWPS) ag publications received blue ribbons at the American Society of Agricultural Engineers international meeting in July. MWPS is an office of ISU Extension. The publications are Sprinkling oil to reduce dust, Gases and odor in swine buildings; Managing and designing bunker and trench silos; Dairy freestall housing and equipment; Dry grain aeration systems design handbook; and Swine nursery facilities handbook. Staff members who developed the publications are Nita Upchurch, Chad Sanborn and Molly Halstead, designers; Carol Huffman, editor; Bill Koenig, engineer; and Jack Moore, manager.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1998, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 8/27/98