Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
June 26, 1998


Competition awards

In three broadcast radio news competitions, WOI Radio staff have pulled in 27 awards -- more in each contest than any other Iowa radio station. The awards include 12 first- place, 12 second-place and three third-place awards. Following is a list of winning broadcasts.

Iowa Broadcast News Association

Iowa Associated Press

Northwest Broadcast News Association

Elected fellow

Mechanical engineering professor Shyam Bahadur has been elected a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineering, the highest honor for mechanical engineers. Bahadur was recognized for his expertise in developing new polymer and composite materials for wear-resistant applications such as knee replacement materials and sliding bearings. Nominators also noted he is a respected consultant to industry, with firms such as John Deere, Sauer Sundstrand and Maytag retaining him for advice on coatings, materials selection and compatibility.

National CASE awards

The ISU Alumni Association has received two awards in the national awards competition sponsored by CASE (Council for the Advancement and Support of Education). The Collegiate Alumni Association, directed by Julie Larson, received a Seal of Excellence, the highest award CASE gives to alumni relations programs. The student membership program grew 228 percent from 1996-97 to 1997-98.

Carole Gieseke, editor, and Karol Crosbie, associate editor of VISIONS magazine, received a third place award for excellence in periodical staff writing.

FCS college awards

Six College of Family and Consumer Sciences faculty and staff members have received 1997-98 college awards.

Doug Lewis, associate professor, food science and human nutrition, received the Helen LeBaron Hilton Teaching Award. He developed an experimental course to reach students outside the department with information about body regulation. He integrates cutting-edge research findings into his teaching.

Sara Kadolph, associate professor of textiles and clothing, received the Career Teaching Award. For 16 years she has been responsible for textile science courses and recently developed a course on conserving antique clothing and textiles.

Robert Serfass, professor of food science and human nutrition, received the Faculty Research Excellence Award. Serfass is a national expert in the use of stable isotopes to study mineral nutrition and metabolism in human subjects.

Wendy White, assistant professor of food science and human nutrition, received the Outstanding Adviser Award from the FCS Student Council. White is an academic adviser and adviser for the food science and human nutrition club.

Karen Shirer, assistant director, ISU Extension to Families, and adjunct assistant professor, family and consumer sciences education and studies, received the Professional and Scientific Staff Outstanding Service Award. She was honored for accomplishments in extension publications and teaching resources, videotapes, displays and research presentations.

Lou Ann Doyle, secretary in the textiles and clothing department, received the Merit Staff Outstanding Service Award. She was honored for her dedication to providing professional support services to faculty and students.

National leadership award

Ron Deiter, professor of economics and professor in charge of the agricultural business program since 1985, received the 1998 John Deere Award from the National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture. The award recognizes outstanding teachers and programs in ag business, technology and management. The award reflects the career success of ISU ag business graduates; the national ranking of the Agriculture Business Club at ISU, which Deiter advises; and the stature of ISU's Agriculture Career Day, the largest in the nation.

Outstanding book

Dianne Bystrom, director of the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics, is co-editor of a book recently named the outstanding book on the subject of human rights in North America for 1997. The Lynching of Language: Gender, Politics and Power in the Hill-Thomas Hearings was recognized by the Gustavus Meyers Center for the Study of Human Rights. Other editors are Sandra Ragan and Lynda Lee Kaid, University of Oklahoma, and Christina Beck, Ohio University.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1998, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 6/25/98