Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
May 15, 1998


Achievement award

Liz Kurt, director of university conference services, has received the Outstanding Individual Achievement Award from the Association of Conference and Events Directors- International. Kurt was honored for her leadership on the joint ISU-Ames meeting planner guide and for her efforts to strengthen the city-university conference partnership.

Research award

Greg Tylka, associate professor of plant pathology, and George Kraus, professor and chair of chemistry, recently were awarded the Production Research Award, United Soybean Board's highest honor. Tylka and Kraus were honored for innovative, multi-disciplinary research on developing compounds that affect hatching of the soybean cyst nematode, a soybean pest.

Catt Sex Equity Awards

The Margaret Sloss Women's Center recently announced winners of the 9th annual Carrie Chapman Catt Sex Equity Award. The award recognizes contributions made by women and men to foster an atmosphere of equality and an understanding of issues affecting the well-being of women. The winners are Sharon Haselhoff, undergraduate student in political science; Sine' Anahita, graduate student in sociology and coordinator of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Student Services; Randall Huff, English instructor; and Jane Vallier, assistant professor of English.

Election to honor association

Joseph Christensen, director of bands, has been elected into the American Bandmasters Association, the most prestigious honorary organization in the world for band directors and composers. The association honors musicians in the concert band field, electing them to membership after a year-long review. Current membership is 255 members.

Art educator of the year

Barbara Caldwell, assistant professor of art and design, has received the Western Higher Education Art Educator of the Year Award from the National Art Education Association. The award recognizes exemplary contributions, service and achievement at a regional level. The association's members include teachers at all levels, and museum and art council representatives.

Board member

Dom Caristi, assistant professor of journalism and mass communication, has been re-elected to the board of directors of the Broadcast Education Association. More than 200 colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, New Zealand and the United Kingdom belong to the BEA. Its board members are academics and professionals from electronic media.

Editorial board member

Dean of Students Kathleen MacKay has been appointed to a three-year term on the editorial board of the NASPA (National Association of Student Personnel Administrators) Journal. The quarterly journal covers issues related to higher education in general, with specific focus on student affairs and students.

Fellowship award

Dilys Morris, associate professor and assistant director for technical services, University Library, received the 1998 American Library Association/Association of College and Research Libraries Samuel Lazerow Fellowship. This award provides librarians specializing in acquisitions or technical services the opportunity to travel or write in those fields.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1998, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 5/14/98