Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
May 1, 1998

Faculty promotion, tenure awards announced

This spring, 23 faculty members were promoted to full professor. Another 37 faculty were promoted to associate professor with tenure, and three faculty members received tenure -- two at the associate professor level and one professor. Finally, two faculty collaborators received promotions, one to associate professor and one to professor.

Among those promoted to professor are seven women. Eleven women were promoted to associate professor with tenure.

Of the 62 faculty who were promoted to professor or associate professor, eight are Asian/Pacific Islander and three are Hispanic.

College of Agriculture

Promotion to professor (already tenured)

Bruce Babcock, economics

William Graves, horticulture

Basil Nikolau, biochemistry and biophysics, and food science and human nutrition

Zivko Nikolov, food science and human nutrition, and agricultural and biosystems engineering

Gail Nonnecke, horticulture

Anthony Pometto III, food science and human nutrition

Patrick Schnable, agronomy

Promotion to professor (collaborator without tenure)

Dan Jaynes, agronomy

Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Brent Danielson, animal ecology

Jay Harmon, agricultural and biosystems engineering

Sergio Lence, economics

Antonio Mallarino, agronomy

Gregory Miller*, agricultural education and studies

Gary Munkvold, plant pathology

Hongwei Xin, agricultural and biosystems engineering

College of Business

Promotion to professor (already tenured)

C. Bradley Shrader, management

College of Design

Promotion to professor (already tenured)

Jennifer Bloomer, architecture

Tenure as associate professor

Catherine Ingraham, architecture

College of Education

Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Jackie Blount, curriculum and instruction

Warren Franke, health and human performance

Gregory Miller*, curriculum and instruction

Janet Sharp, curriculum and instruction

College of Engineering

Tenure as professor

David Jiles, materials science and engineering

Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Degang Chen, electrical and computer engineering

Kristen Constant, materials science and engineering

Hsiu Han, electrical and computer engineering

Greg Luecke, mechanical engineering

James McCalley, electrical and computer engineering

Steven Mickelson, agricultural and biosystems engineering

Prasant Mohapatra, electrical and computer engineering

Christopher Schilling, materials science and engineering

Tenure as associate professor

William Black, electrical and computer engineering

College of Family and Consumer Sciences

Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Steven Garasky, human development and family studies

Carla Peterson, human development and family studies

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Promotion to professor (already tenured)

Margaret Graham, English

Thomas Greenbowe, chemistry

Robert Hollinger, philosophy

Soumendra Lahiri, statistics

Yong Lee, political science

Alan Myers, biochemistry and biophysics

Michael Smiley, mathematics

Curtis Struck, physics and astronomy

Leslie Whitbeck, sociology

Lynn Zeigler, music

Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Hector Avalos, philosophy

Paul Canfield, physics and astronomy

Suncica Canic, mathematics

Soma Chaudhuri, computer science

Dianne Cook, statistics

William Jenks, chemistry

Kirk Moloney, botany

Nina Miller, English

James Raich, botany

Ralph Smith, mathematics

Akhilesh Tyagi, computer science

Montgomery Van Wart, political science

Norma Wolff, anthropology


Promotion to professor (already tenured)

Cynthia Dobson

Olivia Madison

Dilys Morris

Promotion to associate professor (already tenured)

Gerard McKiernan

Promotion to associate professor with tenure

William Wiese

College of Veterinary Medicine

Promotion to associate professor with tenure

Mark Ackermann, veterinary pathology

Patrick Halbur, veterinary diagnostic and production animal medicine

Mary Ann Nieves, veterinary clinical sciences

Promotion to associate professor (collaborator without tenure)

Marcus Kehrli microbiology, immunology and preventive medicine

(*) indicates rank in two colleges

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1998, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 4/30/98