Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
Mar. 20, 1998

Vice provost post to be filled from faculty ranks

by Anne Dolan

The search is under way for a vice provost for undergraduate programs. Provost John Kozak said the position has been created to help integrate and gain visibility for Iowa State's undergraduate programs. The vice provost for undergraduate programs will assume those duties related to undergraduate education now performed by associate provost Edwin Lewis. Lewis has announced he will retire in December.

Among the new vice provost's administrative responsibilities are the Honors Program, Center for Teaching Excellence, Instructional Technology Center, international programs, career services and student outcomes assessment. In addition, the new vice provost will promote interdisciplinary programs, expand the learning communities program, integrate academic advising programs, strengthen ties between academic programs and student affairs, strengthen relationships with Iowa community colleges and serve as the university's liaison with other Iowa colleges and universities on issues related to undergraduate education.

Applicants must be tenured full professors at Iowa State with strong records in teaching and research, familiarity with current issues in higher education, and demonstrated leadership and success in undergraduate education.

The vice provost for undergraduate programs will be appointed for a three-year term, beginning Aug. 16, and will continue some teaching responsibilities.

Nominations and applications are encouraged. Nominations should include the name and affiliation of the nominee. Applications should include a letter describing interest in the position and a relevant, but brief, curriculum vita. Applications or questions about the position should be directed to Richard Seagrave, Chair of Screening Committee, 107 Beardshear, 4-0518. Application screening will begin April 6.

Kozak said he hopes to complete the search process by the end of spring semester. He also said a half-time position will be created to fulfill those components of Lewis' responsibilities not related to undergraduate education.

Joining Seagrave on the screening committee are Carl Bleyle, music; Jackie Blount, curriculum and instruction; Mike Crum, transportation and logistics; Tom Hill, student affairs; Diane McComber, food science and human nutrition; Gail Nonnecke, horticulture; Mary Steiglitz, art and design; Jamal White, Government of the Student Body; and Zora Zimmerman, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1998, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 3/19/98