Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
Dec. 12, 1997

Jischke elected to National Merit Scholarship board

President Martin Jischke has been elected to a three-year term on the board of directors of the National Merit Scholarship Corp., Evanston, Ill. The appointment began last month. The board's approximately 20 members represent business and industry, as well as school districts and public and private colleges and universities across the country.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. is a private, not-for- profit organization that conducts national academic competitions for high school students. Its programs annually honor more than 55,000 high performers, about 9,500 of whom are offered scholarships for undergraduate study worth more than $44 million. The corporation's board of directors approves policy and oversees management of National Merit Scholarship programs.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1997, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 12/11/97