Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
May 16, 1997

Frederiksen award winners named

by Anne Dolan
The first two Charles F. Frederiksen Leadership Awards were presented this spring to freshman Christine Little and junior Madonna Smidt. Named for Iowa State's former director of residence, who retired last June after more than 40 years with the department, the award recognizes residence system students who have demonstrated leadership skills at the grass- roots level.

This year, the recipients received $500 scholarships toward room and board or ISU apartment rent next fall. Since the endowed scholarship fund was launched last spring by Frederiksen's colleagues, more than $26,000 in gifts has been received. People still may donate to the scholarship fund.

Carl Moen, assistant director of residence, said that if the fund clears $30,000, a third $500 scholarship could be offered next spring. Gifts from faculty and staff designated for the Frederiksen leadership awards are included in Campaign Destiny, the capital campaign.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1997, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 5/15/97