Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
Jan. 10, 1997

Robinson is interim VP; search opens for student affairs post

by Anne Dolan
Dan Robinson, university professor and professor of higher education, is serving as interim vice president for student affairs while a committee, led by Provost John Kozak, conducts a national search for the next vice president of student affairs.

Robinson takes over for Tom Thielen, who is returning to the department of professional studies in education for spring semester and retiring from the university May 31.

Robinson has been with the College of Education since 1985. Previously, he held several student affairs positions at Iowa State, including assistant to the vice president for student affairs (1985 to 1986).

Robinson is a member of the ISU Diversity Steering Committee, chair of the College of Education Diversity Committee, a member of the board of directors for the Center for Teaching Excellence and co-chair of the Task Force to Improve Undergraduate Education.

He has been active with ISU's student-athletes, serving on the ISU Athletic Council from 1988 to 1993 and as the council's president in 1992-93.

Robinson earned three degrees from ISU: a B.S. (1970) in physical education and sociology, and an M.S. (1971) and Ph.D. (1978) in higher education administration and counseling psychology.

National search
Joining Kozak on the vice president search committee are: Anne Ahrens, coordinator of special programs for admissions; Ginny Arthur, assistant director of residence; Camilla Benbow, professor of psychology and interim dean of the College of Education; Larry Curtis, Ames mayor and adjunct assistant professor of business; Juan Davila, a program coordinator in the College of Business; Gene Deisinger, assistant director of student counseling service; Ames resident Carol Grant; and Carole Heath, associate professor of chemical engineering.

Also, Eric Hoiberg, associate dean of the College of Agriculture; Terri Houston, assistant dean of students; Denis Klein, senior in industrial engineering; Jennifer Montgomery, graduate student in professional studies in education; Corly Petersen, professor of human development and family studies; Brata Prawiradjaja, junior in chemical engineering; Kevin Ragland, graduate student in animal science; and Sonja Rice, junior in journalism and mass communication. Tammy Michel in the President's Office is providing staff support to the committee.

Committee members will begin reviewing applications Feb. 17, with the intent to invite finalists to campus in April. Kozak said he hopes a new vice president is named by the end of May. Nominations and applications (including a letter of application, resume and the names, addresses and phone numbers of five references) will be accepted until the position is filled and should be sent to: Vice President Search Committee, Office of the President, 117 Beardshear.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1997, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 1/8/97