Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
Sept. 20, 1996

Search begins for NCAA faculty rep

by Anne Dolan
A screening committee has been appointed to solicit applicants for Iowa State's faculty athletic representative to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). Norm Boyles, professor of professional studies in education and a 10-year veteran of the advisory slot, is retiring at the end of this academic year. President Martin Jischke hopes to name Boyles' successor early spring semester.

Richard Seagrave, chemical engineering, is chair of the faculty screening committee. He is joined by Eric Hoiberg, College of Agriculture administration; Brenda Jones, art and design; Barbara Mack, journalism and mass communication; August Ralston, finance; Ann Thompson, curriculum and instruction; and Sally Williams, family and consumer sciences education.

The committee will begin reviewing applications Oct. 15 and forward to Jischke a list of final candidates. Jischke will make the final decision on the three-year appointment.

The faculty athletic representative position is open to all tenured and tenure-track faculty. Applicants may not hold an administrative or coaching position in the athletic department. Applications and nominations will be accepted until the position is filled.

ISU's faculty athletic representative to the NCAA represents the university at meetings of the Big 12 conference and the NCAA, advises Jischke on various athletic matters and helps maintain the academic integrity of the athletic program and each student athlete. The representative must certify the eligibility of student athletes and investigate reports of rules violations. The representative must report violations to the university administration, the Big 12 conference and the NCAA.

He or she reports directly to the president and also presents an annual report to the Faculty Senate on Big 12 or NCAA academic policies or procedures that affect ISU or its students.

Letters of application, including a curriculum vitae, and letters of nomination may be sent to:

Richard Seagrave, chair
Faculty Athletic Representative Screening Committee
c/o Office of the President
117 Beardshear.

Iowa State homepage

Inside Iowa State,, University Relations
Copyright © 1996, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 9/18/96