Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
March 8, 1996

Assistant VP search opens

by Diana Pounds

The search for an assistant vice president for enrollment is under way.

The assistant vice president will report to the vice president for student affairs and will coordinate the total recruitment effort in enrolling the new undergraduate class each year. The assistant vice president position is new, resulting from a reorganization in the enrollment services areas (admissions, financial aid, new student orientation and special recruitment programs).

Eric Hoiberg, associate dean of agriculture, chairs the search committee, which will begin accepting applications and nominations immediately. They should be sent to Vice President for Student Affairs Tom Thielen, 311 Beardshear.

Each applicant should send a letter and resume, including the names, addresses and phone numbers of five references. Review of applications will begin after April 19, but applications and nominations will be accepted until the position is filled. Thielen said he hopes to have the new assistant vice president on the job by mid to late summer.

Joining Hoiberg on the search committee are Mary Jo Banwart, alumni admissions coordinator; J. D. Beatty, assistant dean, Liberal Arts and Sciences; Murray Blackwelder, interim vice president for external affairs; Deborah Burdick, assistant director, student financial aid; Ann Coppernoll Farni, coordinator of undergraduate programs, business student services; Charles Frederiksen, director, department of residence; and Vern Hawkins, assistant director, admissions.

Also, Edwin Lewis, associate provost; Robert Livingston, graduate student in higher education; Ron Peters, Faculty Senate president; Katy Rice, Professional and Scientific Council; Rafael Rodriguez, director, minority student affairs; and Joan Thompson, treasurer.

Inside Iowa State
University Relations

Copyright © 1995
Iowa State University
All rights reserved

Revised 3/7/96