Iowa State University

Inside Iowa State
Jan. 12, 1996

Residence director search begins

by Anne Dolan

For the first time in nearly three decades, Iowa State is facing a search to find a new director of housing. Charles Frederiksen, who has led the department of residence since 1967, announced he will retire from the university June 30. Frederiksen has been on the residence staff since 1956.

Dean of Students Kathleen MacKay will chair the search committee. Applications in the national search will be accepted until the position is filled, with committee members beginning to review applications the week of Feb. 19. Vice President for Student Affairs Tom Thielen said he hopes a new director can start by mid-June to allow for some overlap before Frederiksen departs.

"Chuck Frederiksen has done an excellent job of leading a large, complex operation -- one of the largest in the country," Thielen said. "He was director at a time of tremendous growth at the university and, consequently, in university housing.

"The challenge to the new director will be to lead us through what we hope will be a time of stability and a time in which we'll have to modify some of our traditional halls to better meet the needs of students of the '90s and beyond," he said.

Thielen noted that change has begun under Frederiksen's leadership, evidenced by the computer labs in residence halls. The labs also reflect tighter collaboration between residence life and the academic community, a partnership that will drive future remodeling, he said.

Joining MacKay on the search committee are Stewart Burger, residence food service; Gene Deisinger, student counseling service; Sally Deters, residence life coordinator; Kurt Earnest, graduate student in professional studies in education; Elaine Hieber, athletics; Loras Jaeger, public safety; Kay-Lynne Johnson-Willoughby, residence hall coordinator; Karen Kellogg, residence hall maintenance; Nancy Maydew, residence administration; Steve Richardson, Center for Teaching Excellence; Dan Robinson, professional studies in education; Ron Santi, business and finance; Dustin Shaver, junior in political science and mayor of the University Student Apartment Community; and Robert Wiese, junior in agricultural studies and president of the Inter-Residence Hall Association.

Applications for the director of residence should be sent to Thielen, 311 Beardshear. Nominations may be sent to Thielen or any member of the search committee.

Inside Iowa State
University Relations

Copyright © 1995
Iowa State University
All rights reserved

Revised 1/11/96